How to Cook a Butt

Yesterday, I went to Fresh and Easy and this giant butt was on sale for $2.88. I’ve never cooked a pork butt before, but it was so cheap, I had to buy it.

While I was in the store, I started thinking real hard about what I wanted to go with my butt. I got some onions, garlic, tomato sauce, fire roasted diced tomatoes and whiskey BBQ sauce. I knew I had some Smithwick’s beer at home that I could use too. 

Today I put the butt in the biggest cast iron pot I had, seasoned generously with pepper (no salt!) and then poured all that stuff into the pot and mixed it up.

I covered that pot and put it into a 450F oven for 2 hours. Then I turned the oven down to 200F and left it in another 2 hours. I checked it and there was a lot of liquid, so I took off the cover and put it back in that oven for 2 more hours. It probably only needed another 1/2 hour, but my husband wasn’t home for 2 more hours, so that’s how long it got cooked.

When we finally did eat it, it was tender and delicious and it didn’t need any seasoning! The salt in the tomato products and the BBQ sauce was enough. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of it shredded or pretty on a plate or anything because we were  just too darn hungry and busy eating it!

Cooking this butt was so easy and made a ton of meat. We’ll be eating leftovers this week and I’ll still probably have some left over to freeze. We ate it on hamburger buns like sloppy joes, but you could make BBQ tacos or sandwiches or just eat it with some coleslaw. So the next time you see a giant butt for cheap at the supermarket, don’t be scared of it. Embrace the butt!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “How to Cook a Butt”

  1. ChiaLynn Says:

    Embrace the Butt! Embrace the Butt!

  2. Alethea Says:

    Love that butt! I just told Bexx about the Robert Rodriguez Puerco Pibil recipe. You can find it on Youtube. But now and then we like a variation. I’ll have to try yours, or make the husb. do it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

