Dream Recipes

I do strange things in my sleep. Once, I made cupcakes. Honest. I woke up and the oven was open (and thankfully OFF) with cooked cupcakes inside. No one else had access to my apartment. Scary right?

Well, what’s not scary is when I dream about cooking and wake up remembering what I made. My dream a couple of nights ago involved an arugula salad and a cheese quiche. I decided to make them for dinner tonight and here are the results!

Arugula Salad with Honey-Mustard Balsamic Dressing:

A whole bunch of arugula  mixed with just a little chopped mint, sliced red onion, sliced cucumbers, thinly sliced tomatoes, a few marcona almonds and a couple shavings of a good quality ricotta salata (or parmesan if you can’t find it).

The dressing has about a tsp. of honey, a Tbsp. of dijon mustard and 2 parts olive oil to 1 part balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.

Four Cheese Quiche:

Either make your own pie dough or buy it. I had some left over from the apple pie I made for Father’s Day, so I used that.  This recipe is for a standard 9″ pie. As you can see in my picture, my pie plate is enormous so I used way more. More for us!

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 Tbsp. butter

4 eggs, beaten

2 Tbsp. whole milk

1 cup monterey jack cheese

2 Tbsp. cream cheese

1/4 cup cottage cheese

2 Tbsp. feta cheese

Cook the onions in the butter until very soft and brown. Put in the bottom of the prepared pie crust. Mix all the cheeses together with your hands, squishing them to make a smooth mixture. Then combine well with the beaten eggs and milk. Put the mixture on top of the onions and bake the whole thing at 375F for 50 minutes. Shake it gently and if the center doesn’t jiggle too much, it’s done.

Now if I could only dream up a couple of good recipes a night, I’d have a book out in no time!
Arugula on FoodistaArugula

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Dream Recipes”

  1. smoochkins Says:

    Haha, I don’t really mind dreaming of cooking something and the next day finding the food already there if it means readymade breakfast the next morning! That really looks good by the way, I wanna share this recipe to my friends in Foodista. I hope you don’t mind. Just add the foodista widget for arugula at the end of this post, and that should do it 🙂 Keep on dreaming! I mean, cooking 😀 Hehe, cheers! Amy from Australia

  2. smoochkins Says:

    Hi Lisa, my pleasure! Thanks for adding the widget too. Hope you can share more of your dream recipes to us, haha! If you could add a Foodista widget of your choice to your every post, that’ll be great 😉 That way we get to see more of your posts and get updates as well every time you post one. Regards,Amy xx

Leave a comment